Habit Project – First Pieces Done

I have finalized my idea of doing portraits of other people once a day.

Portrait 1

I started off by, of course, painting myself first. Not only was it an easy way to start off, considering its my own face, but it was definitely a trial by error piece. I learned a few things about what to do and what not to do. This piece alone took a few hours, so I’ll definitely have to cut down on some of the fine tuning and overall rendering. Unfortunately since this was my first piece, I had not finalized the idea of recording my work so I do not have this piece recorded. I am still deciding whether or not to go back and rework it, this time recording the progress.

Portrait 1.png

I tried experimenting with different Photoshop brushes, which is something I don’t normally do. I generally just stick with the default flat brush. I definitely want these pieces to have bright, lively colors in the flesh tones, especially since I’m known to get dull and murky colors if I work with them for too long. This will help me stick to reality rather than what I think should be highlights and shadows.

Though I don’t have a video, I do have a before rendering and after rendering picture to compare the progress-

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Portrait 2

The second portrait I have was done in a similar manner, though this time done in only an hour or two:

Beautiful Dani Portrait

The progress pics going from line, to blocked color, to final is here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This time around I was able to record my screen so you can see a speedpaint of the entire thing! You can watch that video-

Here

Portrait 3

Third Portrait is made in the same manner as the previous 2, this time taking even less time to complete.

Drew.png

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can view the video here (DISCLAIMER: The song picked for this video was requested by the model):

Here

Portrait 4

Lewis

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Speedpaint video is

Here

Leave a Reply

